Her Majesty, Moraine Lake


What can I say about Moraine Lake? I can’t believe it has taken me this long to actually make the trek to see the Ten Peaks. 

The wait was totally worth it. 

This iconic landscape sits 6181 feet above sea level. Nestled in the Valley of the Ten Peaks, it is one of the most photographed places in the world. (I feel like this is true for a lot of places out here.)

You have the option of scaling the front side of the Rock Pile (which is dangerous and difficult), or you can cheat and take the stairs up the back side of the Rock Pile. Once you reach the top, you have an unobstructed view of the entire lake and backdrop and a once-in-a-lifetime photo opportunity. (Or for locals like me, a twice/third/fourth in a lifetime opportunity…)

The road up to Moraine Lake is long and winding. There is one turn that you take and crest over a hill and all of a sudden the Peaks are there. I nearly slammed on the brakes to take it all in. It was so incredibly overwhelming. It’s so sappy and cliche, but it was so beautiful that we cried. I am so lucky to live here, and to visit this magical place repeatedly. Most people, if they are lucky, will only make it here once in their life. I’ve been four times in the last month.



I can’t wait to get a canoe out on this water. As the summer months roll in, the water will rise and become a much more intense shade of blue due to the heightened rock flour concentration for the Glacier grinding away at the mountains. 


Moraine Lake, check.

Leave a comment